boakes.org

Ameri-scam.

Two months ago I wrote a short article about a telemarketing call that I received from AmeriVacation. It has very quickly become one of the most viewed pages on this site, and also the most commented upon, by many people who are worried that they have been conned.

With just a little digging I’ve started to unearth some more information on AmeriVacation, and some “companies” that appear to be related.

It appears that AmeriVacation is only the latest front. They set up a website, to appear legitimate and then cold call people, anyone whose number they can get using an automated calling mechanism (which is very simple to do with a computer). They then sell a package that is not what it appears to be and then make it very difficult to obtain a refund.

Sadly the people that get scammed are often the most vulnerable people who can least afford to lose such a large amount of money.

Through my digging I discovered a little about the history of the scams, and a little about how they’re all related. What follows is a brief review of the links so that others may pick up the trail more easily.

The currently active websites (which can be linked through identical wording, identical phone numbers, IP addresses that resolve to the same physical machines, etc) are:

  1. www.amerivacation.com
  2. www.expertholidays.com
  3. www.yourvipholiday.com (bad press) (more)
  4. www.flbahamastravelhome.com
  5. www.mydiscountholiday.com (bad press)
  6. www.doublevacations.com
  7. www.affiliatedtravelnetwork.com
  8. www.brilliantholiday.com (bad popup press)
  9. www.destinationcenter.net
  10. www.myffc.com (bad press)
  11. www.mydiscountholiday.com
  12. www.floridaholidayusa.com – discovered July 2005
  13. www.holidayfloridausa.com – discovered July 2005
  14. www.sunrisetravels.us – discovered August 2005
  15. www.imperialvacation.com – discovered August 2005
  16. www.5starholidays.net – discovered August 2005
  17. www.floridatouristbureau.com – discovered August 2005

Now, anybody that sells a holiday from Florida, or sells a holiday to Florida must be registered. The last entry in the above list , “mydiscountholiday.com” claims a Florida Seller Of Travel License Number of ST35170. In fact, this next list of sites all claim to have that same license number.

  1. www.mydiscountholiday.com (bad press)
  2. www.usafamilygetaway.com (bad press)
  3. www.sandyvacationsllc.com (bad press)
  4. www.floridabureauoftourism.com
  5. http://www.destinationsforyou.com
  6. http://www.celebrationpromotions.com

Another useful thing for linking companies is the address, several of these companies have used “600 North Highway 1792, Suite 120, Longwood Fl 32750″ including:

  1. www.yourvipholiday.com
  2. www.usafamilygetaway.com addres link also mentioned here

That link is important because without it these appear to be two separate groups of companies, when in fact, it’s one big cloud.

The next link in the chain is the phone number, all the sites below are connected because they use the same UK freephone number 0800-917-7462. What’s especially nice is that three of them have also decided to share testimonials too!

  1. www.windsorvacations.com
  2. www.myvacationschoice.com
  3. www.vacations-paradise.com (bad press)
  4. www.sohovacations.com -bullshit testimonial (bad press)
  5. www.centuryvacations.com – bullshit testimonial
  6. www.firstclicktravel.net – bullshit testimonial
  7. www.usafamilygetaway.com

The other address in use is “7632 Southland Blvd, Orlando, FL 32809″ and this is used by:

  1. www.myffc.com
  2. www.mydiscountholiday.com
  3. www.brilliantholiday.com (bad press)
  4. www.destinationcenter.com

Currently www.destinationcenter.com looks like a bit of a sales force advertisement. However, by looking at the caches on google and web.archive.org, it’s apparent that it was also used as travel sales site (hence I got the address match above), selling these same packages – i.e. not just a coincidence, this was the same outfit.

So, who’s behind it? Well, according to this story, it all comes back to to a Altef Hemani (aka Alex Hemani), who has a history of such scams.

His name is as good as mud on the internet, so he’s tried to combat this by buying a few websites and and writing eulogies about himself.

Each of those sites, incidentally, is owned by the same company: Travel Express Investments 385 Center Point Cir, Altamont Springs, FL 32701.

What’s especially interesting is that the administrative contact for the domains is Arif Rajan who may be the same business man whos only newsworthy moment until now was that in 2002 he was was questioned and released without charge regarding money laundering for terrorist organisations.

Sources

Naturally the information I’ve been able to gather and present here is all freely available to the public. Please feel free to check, corroborate, dispute, disprove or otherwise extended it through your own investigation.

I have found the following resources most useful:

  • http://whois.net/ which provides information about the owners of domain names.
  • http://sunbiz.org/ which provides information from the Florida Department of State regarding companies, and the persons legally responsible for those companies.
  • http://www.doacs.state.fl.us/ the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which regulates travel in Florida.

Published: May 23rd, 2005

Tags: