ArticlesForumDownload AboutContact

boakes.org

nice of you to drop by. tea?

Tags: Scams

Ameri-scam.

May 23rd, 2005, by Rich.


Warning: apache_lookup_uri() [function.apache-lookup-uri]: Unable to include '/pics/2005/ameriwho/beachball' - error finding URI in /home/www/boakes.org/htdocs/mods/plugins/boakes-depicticon.php on line 65
Ameri-scam.

Two months ago I wrote a short article about a telemarketing call that I received from AmeriVacation. It has very quickly become one of the most viewed pages on this site, and also the most commented upon, by many people who are worried that they have been conned.

With just a little digging I’ve started to unearth some more information on AmeriVacation, and some “companies” that appear to be related.

It appears that AmeriVacation is only the latest front. They set up a website, to appear legitimate and then cold call people, anyone whose number they can get using an automated calling mechanism (which is very simple to do with a computer). They then sell a package that is not what it appears to be and then make it very difficult to obtain a refund.

Sadly the people that get scammed are often the most vulnerable people who can least afford to lose such a large amount of money.

Through my digging I discovered a little about the history of the scams, and a little about how they’re all related. What follows is a brief review of the links so that others may pick up the trail more easily.

The currently active websites (which can be linked through identical wording, identical phone numbers, IP addresses that resolve to the same physical machines, etc) are:

  1. www.amerivacation.com
  2. www.expertholidays.com
  3. www.yourvipholiday.com (bad press) (more)
  4. www.flbahamastravelhome.com
  5. www.mydiscountholiday.com (bad press)
  6. www.doublevacations.com
  7. www.affiliatedtravelnetwork.com
  8. www.brilliantholiday.com (bad popup press)
  9. www.destinationcenter.net
  10. www.myffc.com (bad press)
  11. www.mydiscountholiday.com
  12. www.floridaholidayusa.com - discovered July 2005
  13. www.holidayfloridausa.com - discovered July 2005
  14. www.sunrisetravels.us - discovered August 2005
  15. www.imperialvacation.com - discovered August 2005
  16. www.5starholidays.net - discovered August 2005
  17. www.floridatouristbureau.com - discovered August 2005

Now, anybody that sells a holiday from Florida, or sells a holiday to Florida must be registered. The last entry in the above list , “mydiscountholiday.com” claims a Florida Seller Of Travel License Number of ST35170. In fact, this next list of sites all claim to have that same license number.

  1. www.mydiscountholiday.com (bad press)
  2. www.usafamilygetaway.com (bad press)
  3. www.sandyvacationsllc.com (bad press)
  4. www.floridabureauoftourism.com
  5. http://www.destinationsforyou.com
  6. http://www.celebrationpromotions.com

Another useful thing for linking companies is the address, several of these companies have used “600 North Highway 1792, Suite 120, Longwood Fl 32750″ including:

  1. www.yourvipholiday.com
  2. www.usafamilygetaway.com addres link also mentioned here

That link is important because without it these appear to be two separate groups of companies, when in fact, it’s one big cloud.

The next link in the chain is the phone number, all the sites below are connected because they use the same UK freephone number 0800-917-7462. What’s especially nice is that three of them have also decided to share testimonials too!

  1. www.windsorvacations.com
  2. www.myvacationschoice.com
  3. www.vacations-paradise.com (bad press)
  4. www.sohovacations.com -bullshit testimonial (bad press)
  5. www.centuryvacations.com - bullshit testimonial
  6. www.firstclicktravel.net - bullshit testimonial
  7. www.usafamilygetaway.com

The other address in use is “7632 Southland Blvd, Orlando, FL 32809″ and this is used by:

  1. www.myffc.com
  2. www.mydiscountholiday.com
  3. www.brilliantholiday.com (bad press)
  4. www.destinationcenter.com

Currently www.destinationcenter.com looks like a bit of a sales force advertisement. However, by looking at the caches on google and web.archive.org, it’s apparent that it was also used as travel sales site (hence I got the address match above), selling these same packages - i.e. not just a coincidence, this was the same outfit.

So, who’s behind it? Well, according to this story, it all comes back to to a Altef Hemani (aka Alex Hemani), who has a history of such scams.

His name is as good as mud on the internet, so he’s tried to combat this by buying a few websites and and writing eulogies about himself.

Each of those sites, incidentally, is owned by the same company: Travel Express Investments 385 Center Point Cir, Altamont Springs, FL 32701.

What’s especially interesting is that the administrative contact for the domains is Arif Rajan who may be the same business man whos only newsworthy moment until now was that in 2002 he was was questioned and released without charge regarding money laundering for terrorist organisations.

Sources

Naturally the information I’ve been able to gather and present here is all freely available to the public. Please feel free to check, corroborate, dispute, disprove or otherwise extended it through your own investigation.

I have found the following resources most useful:

  • http://whois.net/ which provides information about the owners of domain names.
  • http://sunbiz.org/ which provides information from the Florida Department of State regarding companies, and the persons legally responsible for those companies.
  • http://www.doacs.state.fl.us/ the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which regulates travel in Florida.

681 Responses to “Ameri-scam.”

Pages: «1101112131415161718192069»

  1. 141
    Mette Says:

    Hei

    Two days ago. I got at call from a woman who said I´d won a carabian cruise. I should call 001 407 837 0147 and say my claim code: cruise.

    I looked on the internet and found this page. So naturally I havent called.

    Thanks

  2. 142
    gordonrowe Says:

    i am trying to cancel cruise by http://www.sunrisetravels but canot contact them by phone or internet

  3. 143
    Jennifer Says:

    I live in Belgium and got a call from SunKissed yesterday. After a lengthy conversation with James Orengo, I finally caved in and signed up. After looking at this Web site, I have a lot of concerns and called the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. She told me the company’s license is in “limbo” (her words) because it didn’t get the paperwork in for renewal in time. She said there have been some 35 complaints against the company in the last 3-4 years (26 being in the last 12 months) and that the company faithfully responded when queried by the department (saying it would refund money, for instance). So I’m confused. I actually mailed the company today saying I wanted a refund and cancelation of my package, but I’m not 100% clear if this really IS a scam since it is a registered company. What exactly is the scam — they said for about 900 euros I would have accommodation at specified resorts plus a cruise to the Bahamas with both accommodation and food. I know we have to pay the flight there, but 900 euros for a trip of more than two weeks means a room for four adults at less than $50 a night and that seems like quite a good deal to me. So what am I missing?

  4. 144
    Rich Says:

    Hi Jennifer, I think this article might answer your questions.

  5. 145
    jan van laar Says:

    By the way, it was sunkissedtravel who we were talking to. But as I understand it does not make so much difference.

    Jan

  6. 146
    Jacqui B Says:

    Hey Rich. Very busy so no time to look now. But the Travasaurus website is in fact under: http://www.rjrandall.com

    I’ll be damned if I know why…

  7. 147
    Sarah B Says:

    Neil

    did you get your refund from Royalty Holidays? I’ve sent my information pack back and I’m waiting very nervously to see if they refund me my £596!!!

  8. 148
    Neil Says:

    Here’s an update to my comments made on the 15 Aug 05, I have sent my cancellation notice back to Royalty Holidays via Royal Mail ‘airsure’, so that I can be guaranteed that it arrives at Royalty Holidays without delay as I can track it on line, this cost me £4.68.

    I spoke to Royalty Holidays yesterday to tell them that I had sent the cancellation notice back, the lady at customer services said thats fine, however, you need to send back the rest of the package (DVD, etc) as well. So I have done that today at a cost of £21.50.

    When I spoke to Royalty Holidays ’stating’ that I wanted a refund, they said thats fine, infact everyone I have spoken to so far (Herman, Ronnie, John Miller and Jennifier Gronzales)have all said that I can have a refund, as they are a proper holiday company.

    I just hope they keep their word, I’ll let you know.

  9. 149
    Neil Says:

    Sarah B,
    Please let me know how you get on!!!

  10. 150
    0skar Erixon Says:

    I live in Sweden and yesterday I got a call from sun kissed travel. They said I had won a free vacation… Anyhow I got suspicious after a while(ca 35 min) and when he wanted my VISA card number. But I didn’t give him anything and I asked him to send this information by mail because I didn’t want to agree to anything by the phone! After a while he got kind of aggressive .I tried to explain that I would like some documentation sent to me before I apply whit his demand, and its kind of a sudden I explained, whereby he replies: so you are not interested and hangs up.

    What shocks me is that the United States of America allows this to continue.

    Why Don’t they stop this?

    Is this the American Way?

Pages: «1101112131415161718192069»