ArticlesForumDownload AboutContact

boakes.org

nice of you to drop by. tea?

tags: Security, Society, Spam, WordPress

Spammed by MyNiceMailAt .com

September 17th, 2005, by Rich.

Spammed by MyNiceMailAt .com

Hopefully I just spoiled a spammer’s whole week. How? I bought the domain that he’s trying to promote (MyNiceMailAt.com) before he did.

When I receive comment spam which doesn’t obviously link to a gambling, pornographic or pharmaceutical site then I usually do a little investigation to see what’s on the site, who owns it, why they’re spamming me, etc.

In the last 24 hours I’ve been hit by comment spam promoting MyNiceMailAt.com.

  1. I tried to look at mynicemailat.com, and it didn’t exist; so
  2. I tried to find the domain ownership records, and they didn’t exist either.

MyNiceMailAt.com was an unregistered domain, being promoted by a spammer.

  1. I like to do my bit for hindering spammers; so
  2. I bought the domain, before the spammer could; so
  3. the entire spam run has been a waste of the spammer’s time and resources.

Useful Info

  • If you’d like to learn more about comment spam, I highly recommend Ann Elisabeth’s SpamHuntress blog.
  • This is not the first time such action has been taken by a spam recipient, last year jagk.com was similarly snapped up, and now has a regularly updated spam blacklist that you can add to your .htaccess file (if you don’t run your blog server, tell your administrator about it).

42 Responses to “Spammed by MyNiceMailAt .com”

Pages: «12345

  1. 41
    Kevinin Says:

    Haha, that is a great idea! I’ve never heard of something like this happening. If there are any bots reading this, please spam me -> i.love.spam@web.de
    Great post! CU

  2. 42
    Rowan Says:

    I came across this entry by accident and misread the date. When I actually loaded the site I looked again and realised it’s been a couple of years.

    Pity you let the domain go - someone is probably making some nice $$$ from it now… Inlinks: 1,240

Pages: «12345

Have your say...